Netherlands Antilles Flag

Netherlands Antilles Island Map

  • 2 mins read
Netherlands Antilles Map

10 Fun Facts About The Netherlands Antilles

  1. The Netherlands Antilles previously known as the Netherlands West Indies or Dutch Antilles/West Indies.
  2. The Netherlands Antilles are part of the Lesser Antilles and consist of two groups of islands in the Caribbean Sea: Curaçao and Bonaire, just off the coast of Venezuela and Sint Eustatius, Saba and Sint Maarten.
  3. The Netherlands Antilles was disbanded as a nation in 2010, with each island becoming countries in their own right.
  4. These islands once were part of Kingdom of the Netherlands.
  5. The Netherlands Antilles islands’ are generally hilly with volcanic interiors.
  6. The island of Saint Martin is shared between France and Netherlands. The southern portion is named Sint Maarten and is part of the Netherlands Antilles; its northern portion, called Saint Martin, is an overseas territory of France.
  7. Saba is known as “The Unspoiled Queen of the Caribbean”. Its the smallest island of the Netherlands Antilles group.
  8.  Even though in the English language they are considered part of the Leeward Islands, French, Spanish, Dutch and the English spoken locally.
  9. Saba and Sint Eustatius and Sint Maarten are part of the SSS islands.
  10. Aruba, Curacao and Bonaire are part of the ABC islands.
Netherlands Antilles Island Map

Leave a Reply